Historic Places

The Places that Embody Larimer County

Properties can be historically designated at a national, state or local level. Local designations are made by municipalities with a historic preservation ordinance. In Larimer County, that means Fort Collins, Loveland, Berthoud, Windsor and Timnath. While all of these designations can enable property owners to take advantage of tax credits and sometimes grants, only local designations can save a property from being demolished.

Larimer County Properties on the National Register of Historic Places

There are 8 historic districts and 94 individually listed properties in Larimer County on the National Register of Historic Places.

See the list of National Register properties. 

Larimer County Properties on the Colorado State Register of Historic Places

There are 2 historic districts and 200 individually listed properties on the National Register of Historic Places for a total of 400 designated properties.  (I just made these numbers up. I’ll correct them once I’ve made the lists and can count the properties. But enjoy these numbers for now. I’ll also add different images to each of these sections in a bit. And I still need to add local designations as well.) 

See the list of Colorado State Register properties. 

Meet Our Sponsors


Contact Us

Historic Larimer County
PO Box 1909
Fort Collins, CO 80522

Subscribe to our Monthly Newsletter

* indicates required

Intuit Mailchimp

Become a Member

By becoming a member, you’ll be helping to support preservation efforts throughout Larimer County.